Military Life Skills Education Program - STEP

Systematic Training for Effective Parenting (STEP)

  • Early Childhood
    This seven-session class helps parents develop a positive and consistent approach for dealing with the special challenges of children under age six. Topics include understanding developmental sequences and accomplishments of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers; building effective discipline skills, developing skills for communicating effectively with young children, and much more.
     
  • School-age
    This seven-session program offers participants a wealth of information and skills for parenting 5 to 12-year-olds. Learn ways to help your children become more responsible, respectful, and cooperative. Topics include communication, discipline, the goals of misbehavior, mutual respect, and family meetings.
     
  • This seven-session workshop covers all of the STEP principles plus information on understanding why teens misbehave, peer pressure, excitement, and superiority. Topics include discouraging and encouraging atmospheres; rational and irrational parent responses to emotional scenes; listening and communicating respectfully; and experiencing consequences and exploring alternatives. Realistic video segments on teen experimentation with drugs, alcohol, and sex generate parent discussion of coping strategies explained in the text Parenting Teenagers.

Events

Monday, August 9, 2021

3:00PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ Dam Neck Annex

Wednesday, August 11, 2021

3:00PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ Dam Neck Annex

Monday, August 16, 2021

3:00PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ Dam Neck Annex

Monday, August 23, 2021

3:00PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ Dam Neck Annex

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

3:00PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ Dam Neck Annex

Monday, August 30, 2021

3:00PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ Dam Neck Annex

Tuesday, September 7, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Tuesday, September 21, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Tuesday, September 28, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Tuesday, October 19, 2021

5:30PM

STEP : School Age

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Monday, November 1, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Wednesday, November 3, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Monday, November 8, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Wednesday, November 10, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Monday, November 15, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Wednesday, November 17, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk

Monday, November 22, 2021

5:30PM

STEP: Early Childhood

FFSC @ NAVSTA Norfolk